Home > Uncategorized > Welcome

Welcome

Welcome to the new blog. The name sounds a little scary though. Maybe I should explain.

I’m not looking for a fight. I don’t believe Jesus was either when He said it. Of course, the truth is probably no one knows exactly what He meant.

So honestly, I’m reaching here. I’m not a theologian. A 21st century stab in the dark to understand something that sounds so compelling, almost a battle cry.

What if He was saying look, I know that you think following Me is going to be the easier, softer way. You can live a sedentary lifestyle, obey all authority, go to church on Sunday, tithe, say a few prayers and not make any waves. I love you, but that’s not what I’m looking for.

I’ve got to tell ya, if you want to pick up your cross and follow Me, then do it, no matter the cost. Really. Follow Me. Live the life I lived, do the things I did. It’s probably going to be harder than you think. It got Me crucified.

To follow Me you are going to have to do and say things that people aren’t going to like. Especially if you say and do it like you mean it. It will cause division. It will pit brother against brother, mother against son. Peace? Not likely in this lifetime. The sword? Once again, Pick up your cross…

What’s the sword? Justice. Feeding the hungry. Standing up for the oppressed. Loving my neighbor. Denying myself. Living simply. Shepherding the lost. Loving Christ.

It’s not fame. It’s not money. It’s not any of the easy answers that this world provides. This is The Way that they talk about in the New Testament. It’s not a primrose path.

So that’s what we are going to talk about on this blog. At least what I’m going to be talking about. The less popular subjects that Jesus talked about. The ones we think was meant for Him and the Apostles but not for us. I hope we can all learn something along the way.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. candidchatter
    September 2, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Hi Bub! Love it! 🙂 Looking forward to the convos here.

    Heidi

  2. springsinthedesert
    September 2, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Came across your blog through the tagsurfer. A good start. I think that the world needs all popular subjects and we often forget the essence of christianity. May God give you thoughts to help many.

    springsinthedesert.wordpress.com

  3. Kevin Brangwynne
    September 2, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Hi Bub! Great first post! No doubt I will learn something along the way. Looking forward to the journey!

  4. September 3, 2009 at 3:51 am

    Thanks Bub. Looking forward to it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

