Home > Uncategorized > Park Stalk

Park Stalk

adamsrcth

Ok, that’s the last time I use that term for what we did today. It’s just funny to me. Hopefully someone will come up with something equally catchy for what we did today.

What did we do today, you ask? That’s a good question. Sometimes when God sends you out to something you just do it, even if you’re not quite sure what “that” is. God called us to go to the park today, bring some water and oranges, and hang out looking for people to talk to. I think better yet we were called to listen. Which is sometimes a harder thing.

We met over at 39th Street park (can’t ever remember the real name of it). Sat and talked and reflected about our week so far while we scanned the park for someone to meet.  It was pretty empty except for some kids and their moms at the playground. Even the basketball courts were empty.

I’ve got to admit, I’m pretty nervous about all this. I don’t know if this is in my skill set. I don’t really see myself as an evangelist per se. When no one was at the park I think inside I was quietly going “yes!”. So we said a  prayer and headed off to the Adams Ave Rec center to see if anyone was hanging out over there. Great.

As we rounded the corner at the rec center we saw a couple of guys sleeping on two benches with old blankets covering them.

Me to myself: “Those poor scary guys who I can’t tell what they are about, let’s just let em sleep. They must be really tired and possibly dangerous to waken.”

T.C., walking up to them, “Hey, would you like some water?” Now I’m a little on edge. I’m not sure if it’s a good idea to wake up sleeping homeless folk.

Out pops a head. Man, it’s just a kid. A kid with a mohawk. Troy. Says he just got kicked out of his parents house for smoking pot a couple of days ago.  His buddy popped his head out also. Bob.  Long hair stoner kinda guy. Both of them are 18. First they turn us down when we ask them if they want some water and oranges but eventually they relent and accept a couple of bottle of waters from us.

Bob’s pretty quiet and stays on his bench sleeping. Troy, I think he felt obligated to talk to us since we forced him to accept our water. He tells us about how he ended up there, how he might have some issues with pot and drinking and smoking. Actually a really nice kid. Quiet, but he said that’s because of the medication that he’s on.

One of their friends came up while we were talking to them. Keela. She had just left her boyfriend’s place after he kicked her in the head to start off his day. That was our introduction to her. She was definitely the talker of this little group. She has a couple of issues with Christians. The same ones that a lot of us have. Even other Christians. When she was talking I could definitely tell that she had been to a few AA or NA meetings in her time.

She explained her conception of God in much the same way that I did in my last post. TC talked a bit about how a lot of other Christians feel the same way that she does. She was pretty receptive to listening and responding to us which I though was pretty amazing. I kinda told them a little bit of my story of coming to Christ and how I had all the same thoughts and feelings about Jesus and Christianity that they did.

After talking a little more, Keela had to leave.  And that was that. Our first walk was over. Nothing bad had happened. We might have planted a seed. A positive seed. Not one of a condemning God that wanted to send them to Hell but a God that wanted to give the something to drink. Not The God of the Million Dollar Bill Bible Verse Tract but The God that wanted to listen to them.  The God that wanted to give ’em an orange. The God that talks about grace and forgiveness.

Incarnational? I think so.

  1. Todd
    September 10, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    beautiful.

  2. Kevin Brangwynne
    September 10, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Awesome! Would love to go out with you sometime, though I’m sure I’d have some of the same nervousness you had initially. I’m also not all that confident with my abilities when it comes to evangelism. I’m a good listener though…and I’m real familiar with God’s grace and forgiveness!

    • bub66ohm
      September 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

      Hey Kevin, I’d love to have you go with us sometime. You are definitely all of those things. Let’s figure out a time and a date that maybe we can all hook up.

      • Kevin Brangwynne
        September 11, 2009 at 7:15 pm

        Next week I’m out of town, but maybe the following week? I’ll take some time out of work and meet up with you on your day off, if that works for you.

      • bub66ohm
        September 12, 2009 at 8:43 am

        That sounds great. Let’s do it!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

